Resolution

The New Year is upon us. How many people made their resolution to lose weight and eat better? I think that is on a list of most people. How many people really stick to them? I love going to the gym and it is packed the first week of January with all those people and their new year resolutions. Then a few weeks later and the gym is back to normal with all the regulars. Ahhh, those people who make resolutions and don’t keep them. Yes it’s hard to make lifestyle changes and more power to those that do it! Most people who are looking to lose weight want a quick fix or a pill to take. Which brings me to this article I read:
On Saturday I was at my hair dresser and while I was under the dryer I was reading a magazine, I think it was OK! Magazine. I was reading an article on two former playboy playmates Holly and Kendra and how they lost weight. Well Holly used NV,reduced portion sizes and chose better food options. She would eat fast food and large portions and now she eats fish/chicken, salad, fruit. Then there is Kendra who uses Ab cuts, hired a personal trainer to work out everyday, and ate healthier. They both claimed these “diet pills” helped them lose their weight. Now if you looked at their diet before and after wouldn’t you think that just changing eating habits alone would promote weight loss? Or hiring a personal trainer and exercising would lead to weight loss, not diet pills? If a person just changes the way they eat and exercise, then yes you will lose weight. Of course both of these ladies are spoke-people for the products. Now if I was famous and had millions of dollars then I would for sure have a personal trainer and a chef. Not everyone can have that. People need to realize that there is no little pill you can take to lose weight. It takes time, determination and will power. It takes 3500 calories to equal 1 pound. If you cut 500 calories from you diet you should lose 1/2-1 pound a week. That is a healthy way to lose weight. Just don’t go below 1200 calories per day. Starving yourself isn’t the answer to weight loss either. There are so many diets and diet pills and programs out there. So if you are looking to lose weight choose wisely. Go talk to a dietitian!!!

2 responses

  1. I am eating lots of fruits and vegetables so I feel pretty good, although I am too heavy. My problem is making myself get enough excercize. My joints hurt enough it is easy to not work hard enough. The weather has been good though, keeping mood and movement on the positive side. The main thing I have learned is that if I resolve to do something, I end up going right back to my old habits so forming postive habits by repeating things I really like and want to do help me more than resolving and hoping I will force myself to change.

Leave a Reply

